clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Bulls Make All Conference

Buffalo v Miami Ohio Photo by Michael Reaves/Getty Images

I’m honestly shocked the MAC did not find a way to put Anthony Johnson and / or Khalil Hodge on the second team. But I suppose keeping Tyree Jackson off the third team, in place of EMU’s Brogan Roback was enough of a snub for the year.

I could also point out it’s insane not to make Anthony Johnson the offensive player of the year. The guy is the second best receiver, in the entire nation. Nothing against Logan Woodside but what the hell MAC?

Anyway here is the full list

First Team: Wide receiver Anthony Johnson and linebacker Khalil Hodge

Second Team: Defensive end Demone Harris

Third Team: Center James O'Hagan and defensive end Chuck Harris

Johnson leads the MAC and ranks second in the nation in both receiving yards and receiving touchdowns. And in half of the games he’s played this season he put up 140 or more receiving yards. Nobody else in the country can bost that.

And I know it’s getting a little old but.... He did it with three different quarterbacks!

Hodge had a strong case for Defensive player of the year. He notched a conference leading 154 tackles, like Johnson that’s good for second in the nation. He also put up 6.5 tackles for loss, three sacks, two interceptions and two forced fumbles.

Not as much as a snub of Johnson but it’s clear he could have been picked.

Once again the MAC relegated O'Hagan to the third team despite the fact he led a line that allowed only 17 sacks on 400 plays.

I’m happy that each of them were honored but quite honestly they deserved more.