clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wes Clark invited to the 3-on-3 College Hoops Invitational

Buffalo v Kentucky Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

Buffalo Bulls own Wes Clark has been invited to play in the first non NCAA sanctioned, 3X3U College Senior National Championship.

There will be 32 teams that are each made up of four seniors from an NCAA conference who have no more eligibility left. It’s a three day, 3-on-3 tournament where the teams will compete for a $100,000 prize pool (hence they have to be seniors with no more eligibility left).

If you’re not familiar with 3X3 hoops it goes a little like this.

Games are half court, and are played for either 10 minutes long until a team reaches 21 points. A field goal will be worth one point and a shot beyond the arc gets two points. Possessions alternating after a made basket.

Each NCAA conference get’s one team and the bracket will be set up based off of their RPI and/or rankings. The Mid American Conference is 10th in RPI and would play the team from the America East Conference, if RPI is the sole basis.

There will be eight pools of four teams. The goal of that was to keep the “top leagues” (Big 12, ACC, SEC, Big East, Pac-12, Big Ten and the American) each in a in separate pools. Once again, if we consider only RPI, that would put Buffalo as the #2 team a pool with the Big East.

The initial MAC team consisted of WMU’s Thomas Wilder, Clark, Cecil Williams from CMU, and Toledo’s Tre’Shaun Fletcher. But Fletcher was injured in the MAC tournament and is still in a leg brace. So Kent’s Kevin Zabo will take his place.

The prize pool is set up so that prior to winning the championship game, every victory in pool play, will have accrued some money for participants. Every win before the quarterfinals and the semifinals will net a team $1,000. The championship winner gets $50,000. meaning that if a player in on the winning team they will make $13,750 per player before taxes.

These games can be watched live on Twitter and ESPN2 from Friday, March 30 through Sunday, April 1, 2018, at St. Mary’s University’s Bill Greehey Arena in San Antonio.