clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Butkus Finalist List - Khalil Mack, Anthony Barr, Ryan Shazier, and Patrick Skov

Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

University at Buffalo standout, NCCA record holder, and future first round draft pick Khalil Mack was named a finalist for the Butkus Award. The award is given annually to the nation's top linebacker by the Butkus Foundation.

Mack is in the running along with UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr, C.J. Mosley of Alabama, Ryan Shazier from Ohio State, and Stanford's Patrick Skov.

Mack is just two and half tackles for loss short of an NCAA record. His three sack, three forced fumble game against Miami this past week helped him break the all time NCAA record for forced fumles..

Mack is the first player in school history to be named a finalist Butkus Award.

"This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society," said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.