clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shado, Lipski Named Honorable Mention All-MAC

Matt Gritzmacher

Ahead of the start of the MAC tournament, the All-MAC volleyball teams were released today and Blair Brown Lipsitz placed two of her players on the Honorable Mention All-MAC team.

Senior outside hitter Megan Lipski led the way for the Bulls all season, pacing the team in both kills and digs with 316 and 337 respectively. She was the first Bulls in the past two years to have a 20-20 game, notching 27 kills and 20 digs in the Bulls' road win at Eastern Michigan to kick off their historic 3 game road winning streak. Lipski was one of UB's most consistent players night in and night out leading the ay on and off the court.

Sophomore middle blocker Cassie Shado was also named to the All-MAC Honorable Mention squad, and was a notable snub from the bloated first team after leading the conference in blocks this season with 120 total blocks. Shado was a force for Coach Lipsitz leading the Bulls in hitting percentage at .229 and finsihed second behind Lipksi in kills with 227.

The Bulls will begin their quest for a MAC Championship tonight at 7:30 as they take on Ball State, stay tuned to Bull Run for updates.

2015 MAC Volleyball Player of the Year
T'ara Austin, Northern Illinois, OH

2015 MAC Volleyball Setter of the Year
Alexis Gonzalez, Northern Illinois, S

2015 MAC Volleyball Freshman of the Year
Hailey Knecht, Western Michigan, L

2015 MAC Volleyball Defensive Player of the Year
Challen Geraghty, Kent State, L

2015 MAC Volleyball All-MAC First Team
Jenna Spadafora, Ball State, S
Kelsey Bittinger, Kent State, OH
Challen Geraghty, Kent State, L
Kelly Hutchison, Kent State, OPP
Katarina Kojic, Kent State, S
Paige Hill, Miami, MH
Jenny Ingle, Miami, MH
T'ara Austin, Northern Illinois, OH
Alexis Gonzalez, Northern Illinois, S
Jenna Radtke, Northern Illinois, MB
Lauren Zielinski, Northern Illinois, OPP
Meredith Ashy, Ohio, L
Abby Gilleland, Ohio, S
Sydney LeMay, Western Michigan, MB

2015 MAC Volleyball All-MAC Honorable Mention
Jelena Sunjic, Bowling Green, OH
Megan Lipski, Buffalo, OH
Cassie Shado, Buffalo, MB
Jordan Bueter, Central Michigan, OH
Corynne Smith, Eastern Michigan, L
Bridget Wilhelm, Kent State, MB

2015 MAC Volleyball All-Freshman Team
Cassie Haut, Eastern Michigan, MB/OPP
Mackenzie Zielinski, Miami, S
Meg Wolowicz, Northern Illinois, MB
Katie Nelson, Ohio, MB
Hailey Knecht, Western Michigan, L
Bailey Schnell, Western Michigan, OH