clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kassidy Kidd, Jackie Hall, three others All-MAC for Buffalo Women's Soccer

UB Athletics

The MAC announced Women's Soccer postseason awards this afternoon, and five Bulls were honored across the First and Second Team All-MAC and Freshman All-MAC Team. No Bulls won individual awards.

Seniors Kassidy Kidd and Jackie Hall were named First Team All-MAC, Hall for the second consecutive year, while Kidd's is the first all-conference recognition of her career.

Even before the goals started, Kidd was enjoying a standout season as one of the key cogs in UB's offense. Since a move to forward, the goals have shown up, and the senior is closing her career like anyone would dream of. Her six goals and six assists are both tied for the team lead, and 14 of her 18 points - all of these numbers are career-highs, by the way - have come in the last eight games. There's no impressive stats to wow you with Jackie Hall. She just goes out and does her business.

Another pair of Bulls were recognized as Second Team All-MAC in sophomore Julia Benati and junior Celina Carrero.

An All-MAC Freshman honoree in 2014, Benati has stepped up this season into a player more willing to shoot and more dangerous with the ball on her feet. She's tied for the team lead with six goals and for the conference lead as five of them have gone for game-winners. Carrero tied for the team lead and second in the conference with six assists and now has 13 in her career.

The least surprising UB honoree was Brianna Shingary on the All-Freshman team. We told you yesterday why Shingary should have been named Freshman of the Year*, but her inclusion on the MAC All-Freshman team has been an absolute no-brainer for half the season now. No freshman in the conference has played more minutes and few defenders have added as much offense as she has with two goals, four assists, and a consistently threatening delivery on set pieces.

*and made a critical error in that post in overlooking actual winner Abby Boswell of Ball State, who scored ten goals and frankly presented a much stronger case against Shingary than any of the names I highlighted.

One notable absence is sophomore goaltender Laura Dougall, First Team All-MAC and Freshman of the Year last season. Dougall hasn't enjoyed quite the same season as last year, seeing more shots and a few unlucky goals, but she's still put up eight shutouts, good for third in the MAC. Only Bowling Green's Lauren Cadel has stopped more shots and nobody has a better save percentage.

I thought that the two All-MAC selections would go to a combination of Ball State's Alyssa Heintschel, Dougall, and Miami's Vic Maniaci. Instead, while Heintschel took First Team All-MAC, Second Team honors went to Akron's Annabelle Hegeman, which is a confusing selection to say the least.

The Full MAC Women's Soccer Postseason Awards:

2015 Freshman of the Year: Abigail Boswell, Ball State
2015 Offensive Player of the Year: Jenna Hellstrom, Kent State
2015 Defensive Player of the Year: Lorina White, Ball State
2015 Coach of the Year: Nate Norman, Western Michigan

2015 All-MAC First Team
Chelsy Swackhamer, Ball State, MF
Kassidy Kidd, Buffalo, MF
Lauren Gierman, Northern Illinois, MF
Kylie Nylen, Western Michigan, MF
Abbie Boswell, Ball State, F
Donavan Capehart, Kent State, F
Jenna Hellstrom, Kent State, F
Leah Mattingly, Ball State, D
Lorina White, Ball State, D
Jackie Hall, Buffalo, D
Lindsey Lee, Western Michigan, D
Alyssa Heintschel, Ball State, GK

2015 All-MAC Second Team
Julia Benati, Buffalo, MF
Eliza Van de Kerkhove, Central Michigan, MF
Isa Echeverri, Toledo, MF
Gina Maddi, Western Michigan, MF
Celina Carrero, Buffalo, F
Emma Kahn, Western Michigan, F
Irene Young, Western Michigan, F
Katie George, Akron, D
Paige Culver, Kent State, D
Lacey Zahn, Western Michigan, D
Annabelle Hegeman, Akron, GK

2015 All-Freshman Team:
Abbie Boswell, Ball State
Erica Hubert, Bowling Green
Brianna Shingary, Buffalo
Mary Carlson, Central Michigan
Lexi Pelafas, Central Michigan
Madison Pogarch, Central Michigan
Zoie Reed, Central Michigan
Kristin Nason, Eastern Michigan
Paige Culver, Kent State
Korrie Sauder, Miami
Taylor Sarver, NIU
Stephanie Rowland, Ohio