clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Bednarik Award Watchlish - Khalil Mack Linebacker Buffalo

Timothy T. Ludwig-USA TODAY Spor

There might be two reasons for Khalil Mack to make a trip to New York this December. Just one day after being named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award, Mack was also named a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award.

The Bednarik award is given annually to the nation's top defensive player, on Tuesday.

Mack is one of 16 semifinalists and six linebackers on the list. He is the first player in school history to be named a semifinalist for the Bednarik Award.

Mack leads Buffalo with 54 tackles (32 solo), 11 tackles for loss, seven sacks and three interceptions. Mack leads the Mid-American Conference in tackles for loss and sacks. He currently ranks third in NCAA history with 67 career tackles for loss.

The winner of the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12, 2013. Three finalists for the award will be announced on November 25, 2013 and a second round of voting will take place at that time.

2013 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists:
Player     Class     Pos.     College
Anthony Barr     Sr.     LB     UCLA
Vic Beasley Jr.     DE     Clemson
Chris Borland Sr.     LB     Wisconsin
Aaron Donald Sr.      DT     Pittsburgh
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu Jr.     CB     Oregon
Kyle Fuller     Sr.     CB     Virginia Tech
Jackson Jeffcoat Sr.     DE     Texas
Lamarcus Joyner Sr.     CB     Florida State
Khalil Mack     Sr.     LB     Buffalo
C.J. Mosley Sr.     LB     Alabama
Trent Murphy Sr.     LB     Stanford
Michael Sam Sr.     DE     Missouri
Ryan Shazier Jr.     LB     Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy Sr.     LB     BYU
Nikita Whitlock Sr.     DT     Wake Forest
Leonard Williams So.     DE     USC