clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Butkus Award Semi Finalist Khalil Mack

University at Buffalo standout and future first round draft pick Khalil Mack was named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award. The award is given annually to the nation's top linebacker by the Butkus Foundation.

Mack is one of 12 semifinalists for the award.

Khalil leads Buffalo with 54 tackles (32 solo), 11 tackles for loss, seven sacks and three interceptions. He also leads the Mid-American Conference in tackles for loss and sacks. Mack is pursing two NCAA records currently ranks third in NCAA history with 67 career tackles for loss and is two forced fumbles away from that national record.

Mack is the first player in school history to be named a semifinalist for the Butkus Award. The finalists will be announced November 26 and the winner will be announced by December 10.

"This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society," said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

Collegiate 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:

Anthony Barr, UCLA
Lamin Barrow, Louisiana State University
Chris Borland, University of Wisconsin
Khairi Fortt, University of California
Khalil Mack, University at Buffalo
C.J. Mosley, University of Alabama
Denzel Perryman, University of Miami (Fla.)
Trevor Reilly, University of Utah
Ryan Shazier, The Ohio State University
Shayne Skov, Stanford University
Yawin Smallwood, University of Connecticut
Kyle Van Noy, Brigham Young University