clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wrestling dominates Kent State 23-12

Kyle Akins’ season debut and bonus point wins from Colt Cotten, Alex Smythe and James Benjamin propelled the Buffalo Bulls wrestling team to their first win over Kent State since the 2004-2005 season, 23-12.

After missing the first portion of the season due to injury Akins looked in midseason form against Kent State’s Cory Simpson. Akins dominated from whistle to whistle and wasn’t challenged at all.

Not to be outdone Bryan Lantry earned a convincing 6-3 decision over #20 Anthony Tutolo - his 2nd victory over a top 20 opponent this season. Ryan Peters filling in for the injured Jason Estevez at 141 pounds gave Chance Driscoll all he could handle but couldn’t complete a takedown in the closing seconds and fell 4-3.

Colt Cotten did everything but pin Tim Rooney at 149 pounds and gave UB a 12-3 lead heading into the midway point of the dual after a 16-0 beatdown. Alex Smythe and Tyler Rill helped to extend the UB lead to 19-3 after a major decision and decision victories, respectively.

Kent State would pull in within 10 after winning at 174 pounds and 184 pounds but a James Benjamin major decision in one of the most exciting matches of the dual would ice the win for UB.

Jake Gunning lost in a close decision to Devin Nye 6-4 - Gunning couldn’t complete a takedown at the buzzer to tie, but the result didn’t affect the outcome of the dual.

UB’s first MAC win came a lot earlier than last year and this year’s beatdown of Kent State was a far cry from the 28-3 defeat that the Bulls suffered last year.

The Kent State coach was speaking his mind on the sideline as most coaches do but he made the mistake of calling UB a “JV squad”. Well, coach, that JV squad just whooped your team’s ass.

Buffalo will have a week off to prepare for B1G foe Indiana as they make a road trip out to Bloomington.

Full Results:

125: Kyle Akins (UB) maj. dec. Cory Simpson (KSU), 13-5

133: Bryan Lantry (UB) dec. #20 Anthony Tutolo (KSU), 6-3

141: Chance Driscoll (KSU) dec. Ryan Peters (UB), 4-3

149: Colt Cotten (UB) tech. fall Tim Rooney (KSU), 16-0

157: Alex Smythe (UB) maj. dec. Ben Heyob (KSU), 15-5

165: Tyler Rill (UB) dec. Isaac Bast (KSU), 13-8

174: Jairod James (KSU) dec. Muhamed McBryde (UB), 3-2

184: Jerold Spohn (KSU) dec. Brett Perry 8-1

197: James Benjamin (UB) maj. dec. Stephen Suglio (KSU), 12-3

285: Devin Nye (KSU) dec. Jake Gunning (UB), 6-4