clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Source: Buffalo will take part in the Great Alaska Shootout

Bull Run has heard from a non-departmental source that the Buffalo Bulls will be taking part in the Great Alaska Shootout.

Todd Warshaw/Getty Images

The Great Alaska Shootout is an annual college basketball tournament in Anchorage, Alaska that features colleges from all over the United States. The University of Alaska Anchorage, a division II team, hosts the tournament every Thanksgiving. Tournament games are played at the Alaska Airlines Center.

The Shootout is an "exempted event" meaning that it does not count against the NCAA limit of 28 games in a season.

The men's tournament field has included at least one team which would qualify for the NCAA Division I tournament later in the season during each of its 36 editions. The 1985 field included an event record six teams that would go on to be invited to the NCAA Tournament. Five times the tournament field has included the defending NCAA Champion, most recently in 1996 when the University of Kentucky took part in the tournament.

This year the field includes the Alaska Anchorage Seawolves (DII, GNAC), the Cal State Bakersfield Roadrunners (WAC), the Drake Bulldogs (MVC) (Wichita Eagle), the Iona Gaels (MAAC), the Oakland Golden Grizzlies (Horizon), the Nevada Wolf Pack (MW), and the Weber State Wildcats (Big Sky).