clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo's Justin Moss, Shannon Evans, Lamonte Bearden named to All-MAC teams

UB doesn't play again until Friday thanks to their #2 seed and the accompanying bye to the MAC Semifinals, but the news just keeps rolling in.

After Maurice O'Field's commitment yesterday, UB fans can today celebrate the recognition of three standout Bulls for their work this season after the MAC released the 2015 All-MAC teams.

One of the favorites for MAC Player of the Year (to be announced Wednesday), Justin Moss was named First Team All-MAC after a regular season that saw him lead the conference in both points (18.4) and rebounds (9.3). In MAC play alone he still lead all comers, upping his game to 19.7 points and 9.3 boards a night.

Shannon Evans in our minds was deserving of First-Team recognition, as well, but was edged out by a pair of talented MAC West guards in CMU's Chris Fowler and Toledo's Julius Brown. Evans, sixth in the MAC with 15.3 points per game and third in both assists and steals, was named Second Team All-MAC.

Lamonte Bearden isn't a shoe-in for MAC Freshman of the Year (to be announced tomorrow), but there's no question that he earned his place on the Freshman All-MAC team. Starting every game for the Bulls, the lithe guard has at times been an inconsistent scorer (8.1 ppg) but always takes care of the basketball - he's right behind Evans at #4 in the MAC in assists - and at times has made you forget he's a freshman.

Congratulations to Justin, Shannon, and Lamonte! The full teams are reproduced below:

All-MAC First Team

Richaun Holmes, Bowling Green F
Justin Moss, Buffalo, F
Chris Fowler, Central Michigan, G
Jimmy Hall, Kent State, F
Julius "Juice" Brown, Toledo, G

All-MAC Second Team

Shannon Evans, Buffalo, G
Devareaux Manley, Kent State, G
Eric Washington, Miami, G
Maurice Ndour, Ohio, F
David Brown, Western Michigan, G

All-MAC Third Team

Pat Forsythe, Akron, C
John Simons, Central Michigan, F
Raven Lee, Eastern Michigan, G
Justin Drummond, Toledo, G/F
J.D. Weatherspoon, Toledo, F

All-MAC Honorable Mention

Karrington Ward, Eastern Michigan, F
Kris Brewer, Kent State, G
Javarez "Bean" Willis, Ohio, G
Nathan Boothe, Toledo, C
Connar Tava, Western Michigan, F

MAC All-Freshman Team

Noah Robotham, Akron, G
Sean Sellers, Ball State, F
Lamonte Bearden, Buffalo, G
Josh Kozinski, Central Michigan, G
Thomas Wilder, Western Michigan, G